Since 1891, Kiwis have been part of CIM/OMF…

We have had many Kiwis who have gone out with CIM/OMF  to East Asia.
The first missionary from New Zealand was Annie Harrison from Christchurch, who was sent by the newly formed Council in Melbourne.  She set sail with the party in August 1891.  The North and South Island Councils were formed on June 1, 1894, with Mr W. Brakenrig as Honorary Secretary in Auckland and Mr J. Wilkinson as Honorary Secretary in Dunedin to help mobilise and process new workers.   In 1951, the North and South Island Councils merged to form the National Council.

Today, the National Council is led by Chairman Mr. John Good, and thirteen other members that represent a wide range of constituents within the New Zealand church.

National Directors  (Following separation from Australian Leadership)

1958 – 1970        Walter Michell

1971                      Allan Knight (Acting)

1972 – 1976         Norman McIntosh

1976 – 1993         John Hewlett

1993 – 1998         Alan Bennett

1998 – 2002        Linton Conway

2003 – 2009        Warren Payne

2009 – 2017       Christine Harding

2018 – 2018         Howard Iseli

2019                   Interim Leadership Team


New Zealander J. Oswald Sanders served as the OMF General Director from 1954-1969